A Brief Biography of Akira Hasegawa in Plasma Physics (October 2017)

Akira Hasegawa was born in Tokyo in 1934 and is a graduate of Osaka University He received his Ph. D. Degree from the University of California, Berkeley in 1964 and Doctor of Science Degree from Nagoya University. He worked at Bell Laboratory, Columbia University and Osaka University until he retired in 1997. He is currently a Professor Emeritus of the Osaka University.

In plasma physics, Professor Hasegawa is known as the discoverer of the Buchsbaum-Hasegawa resonance, the drift-mirror instability, the kinetic Alfven wave, mechanism of the earth's magnetic field resonance, the Hasegawa-Mima and the Hasegawa-Wakatani equations, the plasma container based on the dipole magnetic field and the excitation of the zonal flow in toroidal plasmas. He served as the Chairman of the APS Division of Plasma Physics in 1990. Professor Hasegawa is recipients 1991 Rank Prize, 2000 James Clerk Maxwell Prize of American Physical Society, 2008 Japan Academy Prize, 2010 The Order of the Sacred Treasure, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon and 2011 European Physical Society Alfvén Prize. Professor Hasegawa is a Life Fellow of the American Physics Society and of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering,